As you look at websites on the internet, the browser (e.g. internet explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari) you are using will automatically save information about what you are searching or looking at. This may be images, websites, or queries that will be saved as your History. Browsers collect this data to make the user experience easy. For example, a browser will ask if you want to save log in details so you don’t have to enter them the next time. However, this means that it is also accessible by anyone who knows where to look.

The QUICK CLOSE button at the side of the CarmDas website will quickly hide the page but you will still need to clear your history to cover your tracks.

How to clear your history

If you don't want your abuser or anyone else to know what you are looking at online you need to clear your browsing history.

Internet explorer

  • Click on the Tools menu (in the row at the top of the browser) 
  • Select Internet Options from the drop down menu; you should now be on a tab that says 'General' – if not, select 'General'; under the title, 'Temporary Internet Files' 
  • Click on 'Delete Files'. You can also check the box that says 'delete all offline content'
  • Then, under 'History' click on 'Clear History'
  • Then click OK, at the bottom

Google Chrome

  • Click on the three great lines in the top right corner of your window, the click History.
  • Click the Clear browsing data button at the top of the screen.
  • Change the option at the top to a time you think is appropriate (The beginning of time might look suspicious).
  • Tick all the boxes then click the Clear browsing data button at the bottom and close the History tab. Click on safari in the top right corner of your screen

Safari

  •  Click on Safari in the top right corner of your screen
  •  Select Clear History and Website Data
  •  You can then change the option to a time you think is appropriate (the beginning of time might look suspicious).

Toolbars

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose “Clear Search History”.

Remember to log out of your accounts, computer and not to save passwords if you don't want anyone else to log into your accounts.

General Security

  • It is best to use a password to log in to your computer, if you don’t then anyone is able to use your computer and can track your internet usage. Make sure you change passwords regularly and don't use the same password for all accounts.
  • The safest way to to use the internet is to use a computer at a local library, work, or a friend’s house. 

Be aware that this may not guarantee your internet activity is hidden – especially if your abuser is extremely computer proficient